A Day to Remember

(Originally posted on my other blog, October 5, 2016)

FB_IMG_1475680009910

As I sit nursing my beautiful one month old baby, I am reminded of where I sat exactly 1 year ago, in my OB’s office, hearing the words no expecting woman ever wants to hear. “I’m sorry, we can no longer find the heartbeat.” 

Some days it is easy to forget that my baby should be 6 months old today, not 1 month, and that my dear sweet James is actually a rainbow baby. But then I am reminded of days like May 8th and Oct 5th.

October 5th is the day we lost our baby. The day he or she was taken back into the arms of Jesus. October 5th I’d also my nephews birthday, so it will always be bittersweet for me.

October is infant loss awareness month. And although we lost our baby when he was only the size of a kumquat, he was very much a part of our lives. And many many families have lost their babies. 1 in 4 women experience a miscarriage.

Please join me in praying for those we know and those we don’t who struggle with loss, infertility or any number of related issues. We may not know about them, as this is something that is not talked about much. But it should be, we all need to share in each other’s struggles and burdens.

One thought on “A Day to Remember

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

