Why Sprouts, Sprites & Dinosaurs?

If you are reading my blog because you know me already, you may be wondering why I am starting a new blog with such an unusual name. As a Stay at Home mom I sometimes feel like there is something missing in my life. Everyone always tells me, you will never regret taking a few years off your career but you will regret missing out on those milestone moments with your babies, my little Sprouts. But I did miss it. Was that wrong? Is it wrong to miss being intellectually stimulated? Wrong to be have an outlet for your creative juices? Or a place to use your love of writing? I don’t think so.

Please do not get me wrong. I LOVE being home. Sleeping in a little late if the kids do, being woken up by smiles and hugs that do not always merit a mad dash out the door (though sometimes they do!) Having the ability to take my kids to the amazing program of Bible Study Fellowship because I am home during the day. My kids are my world. But I was feeling like I needed more. Now may not be the best time to start up a blog. I mean, Joy is 4.5, Deano is 2.5 and Teddy is 7 months old. They are more than enough to keep me busy, then add in laundry, dishes, meal prep, cleaning, and running from one activity to another. But I just felt like I needed something. 

That is when I decided on a blog. I don’t care if 1 person reads it, or 100. That is not why I am writing. I am writing as an outlet. I was always a writer, from the time I was in 2nd grade I was journaling. Of course back then it was Dear Diary, I like Taylor. Does he like me? As I got older, journals became a way for me to work through my thoughts, my heartaches, major decisions, and yes maybe there was still a bit of I like him, but does he like me?

I came up with the name Sprouts, Sprites, & Dinosaurs because I knew I would mostly be blogging about my life as a SAHM. So it would be about me and my kids. I wanted to find a name that would be symbolic of their personalities.

Teddy is such a little guy, that he has not yet had a chance for his personality to shine through. But what I do know, is he is such a little guy, full of new life, so excited to see those he loved. So I thought of words that were synonyms to child or youth. SPROUT I loved it right away. So Sprout became my launching point. What could work with Sprout?

SPRITE Makes me think of my sweet little Joy. She loves all things magical, mystical, or royal. There is never a week that goes by where she isn’t playing with or dressing up like Tinkerbell.

For those who do know my son Deano, DINOSAUR is a great word for him. He loves all things dinosaur. Every single night, he must wear a pair of dinosaur pajamas to bed or all hell breaks loose. He can go from a loving-gentle brontosaurus to a smash all t-rex in a matter of minutes. And Lord knows we spend many a day in dino jammies as well to avoid the tears and meltdowns.

20161225_072240
Our First Christmas with 3 Sprouts

 

One thought on “Why Sprouts, Sprites & Dinosaurs?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

