Woodland Baby Shower

I am so excited to share this post with you! My dear older sister Lisa is getting ready to have her first baby! Yay! I am hoping for a girl! My other sister and I had the privilege of throwing the shower. Well since my sisters do not live in town I am so grateful for Pinterest. We were able to plan and pick out all the things we liked on there. And just text back and forth. Yay technology! ūüėÄ

Be warned, this is a LONG post! 

Rach was in charge of getting the invitations. She found a great site on Etsy that personalized one for us and it turned out great. ¬†This obviously is not the personalized one for us, but I didn’t really want to share all that personal contact info with the internet! I will say, she did a great job customizing just how we wanted.

20170424_213402

View their Etsy shop HERE.

Woodland Animals is Lisa’s nursery theme also. So we tied in that for the shower. Our menu included:

  • Forest Trees
  • Pinecones
  • Forest berries
  • Acorns
  • Hollow Logs
  • Toadstools
  • Better than sex cupcakes ¬†(Lisa’s favorite)
  • Hedgehog Cookies
  • Birch trees
  • Morning Dew

We served the drinks in mason jars. And I borrowed this awesome drink server from a friend that looks like a giant mason jar! Score! They sell them at Sam’s Club¬†if you are interested in one for yourself. Not a bad price. Only $24.98 online right now. We found the ideas for the food on Pinterest. I sometimes wonder how people threw parties before Pinterest existed.

The links for the recipes. Want to give credit where credit is due!

Forest Trees¬†– (aka Broccoli Salad). This is one that I made. And everyone was raving about how much they loved it. I followed this¬†RECIPE. The only variations was that I doubled the amount of broccoli but left everything else the same. So it wasn’t as heavily coated with dressing. Which I preferred.

Pinecones РThese were made of cheese! Delicious! My sister made the cheese ball and I added the almonds to make it look like a pinecone. I think that they turned out adorable. What do you think? My sister said the recipe was super simple. You can find it HERE.

Forest Berries –¬†I used strawberries, blueberries, grapes, black berries, and raspberries. But you could use which ever you most prefer. Here is the recipe for the¬†FRUIT DIP. Which was delicious! I wanted to just eat it with a spoon!

Acorns¬†– I am not sure that she had a recipe for these cute little buggers. But they tasted so good. Everytime I walked by the table I popped one or two in my mouth. They were made with mini Nutterbutters and Hershey’s kisses.

Toadstools and Hedgehogs РThese came from the same creative gal! You can find her blog HERE. The toadstools were made with cherry tomatoes and string mozzarella cheese, oh and pinch of basil. The hedgehogs were butter cookies formed and dipped in chocolate and pecans. Yum! Rach made the hedgehogs and I assembled the toadstools.

Hollow Logs – I do not have a recipe for these yet. I will try to write one up and post it for you as these were my thrown together creation. I love Avocado Chicken Salad so that is what we served, in croissants. They tasted so good. I am glad we had lots leftover.

Birch Tree Branches – These are pretty self explanatory. Pretzel rods dipped in white chocolate then drizzled with milk chocolate.

Better than Sex Cupcakes¬†– aka Better than Anything cupcakes. These also do not have a recipe. A box of German Chocolate cake mix. Make according to package. While still hot poke holes in cake/cupcakes with a straw. Pour caramel syrup over cake while still warm so caramel seeps into the cake. Top with whipped cream and your choice of toffee bits or nuts. We used pecans because that was Lisa’s preference.

Morning Dew РLemonade!

For decorations we purchase a few wooden planks and fake moss from Hobby Lobby. I foraged in my yard and neighborhood park for pinecones and driftwood. We found plenty to decorate with. Mom also had some bird and squirrel figurines that we could borrow.

For games we only played one. And of course I forgot to take a picture of the card. It was the Baby Animal Name Game. Also purchased through the Etsy shop that designed the invites. We had a short devotional by a family friend. And encouraged everyone to write a note of advice for Lisa. My little addition was providing diapers for people to write funny messages on for those late night diaper changes. IMG_2837IMG_2838.jpg

We had a great time celebrating with Lisa, our family and friends. We cannot wait for this new baby to arrive! Joy was excited to be included in the festivities. And she wanted to wear matching clothes so we could be twins. (See photo below) I will take her wanting to be like mama for as long as I can get it.

Let me know in the comments what you think!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

